Each year the Academy elects a new Board of Directors comprised of family physicians from across North Carolina. Directors and officers originate from each of the NCAFP’s seven (7) districts and represent a broad spectrum of practice styles, career stages, and patient populations. In addition to their board service, each actively participates within the Academy’s formal council and committee structure.

2016-2017 Executive Officers

Dr. Charles Rhodes


Charles W. Rhodes, MD

Mt. Pleasant, NC

Dr. Rhodes was born in Germany and grew up in Cumberland County, NC. He completed his undergraduate work at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He received his medical degree from the Bowman Gray School of Medicine in Winston?Salem and completed his residency in family medicine at East Carolina University. Dr. Rhodes served in the United States AirForce before joining Mount Pleasant Family Physicians in 1987. He currently serves as President of Cabarrus Family Medicine. Dr. Rhodes completed the NIPPD fellowship and is a founding faculty member of the Cabarrus Family Medicine Residency Program. He has a special interest in travel medicine and has done mission work in the Dominican Republic. He and his wife, Nancy, reside on a farm in Mount Pleasant. Dr. Rhodes was the 2009 NC Family Physician of the Year.

Dr. Tamieka Howell


Tamieka M.L. Howell, MD

Greensboro, NC

Dr. Howell currently serves patients at Novant Health Ironwood Family Medicine in Greensboro, NC. She earned her medical degree from New York Medical College in Valhalla, NY in 2005 and went on to complete her residency training in family medicine at the Moses Cone Family Medicine Residency Program in Greensboro in 2008 where she also served as Chief Resident. Outside of her educational and training pursuits, Dr. Howell has served the specialty of family medicine in leadership roles at both the state and national levels. From 2007 to 2008, Dr. Howell helped lead the NCAFP’s Resident Section, culminating with her role of Resident Director in 2008.

Dr. Alisa Nance

Vice President

Alisa C. Nance, MD, RPh

Mooresville, NC

Dr. Nance attended the University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill graduating in 1992 with a BS degree of in Pharmacy. She attended Wake Forest University Medical School and graduated in 1996. She completed her residency in 1999 at Memorial Hermann Southwest in Houston, TX as chief resident. She has been employed with Piedmont Healthcare multi-specialty group in Mooresville, NC since 1999 and has served on their Board of Directors for eight years. She opened her own practice, Nance Family Medicine in 2005. She completed her Diplomat designation with the National Lipid Association in 2009. She lives in the hometown where she grew up, giving back to her community. She is married to her husband, Tom, and has two sons.

Dr. David Rinehart

Secretary Treasurer

David R. Rinehart

Belmont, NC

Dr. Rinehart graduated from the University of Virginia with a B.A. in Biology in 1978 and graduated from the University of Virginia Medical School in 1982. He completed his residency in family medicine at Charlotte Memorial Hospital in 1985 and has been practicing family medicine with South Point Family Practice in Belmont, NC, since then. South Point joined CaroMont Health in 2007. Dr Rinehart has held several leadership and committee positions in his community and within CaroMont Health and is currently Co-Administrative Physician Lead of the Primary Care Service Line. Dr. Rinehart lives in Belmont with his wife of 37 years and has three grown children.

Dr. Rhett L. Brown

Board Chair

Rhett L. Brown, MD

Charlotte, NC

A graduate of Davidson College, Dr. Brown attended the Medical University of South Carolina before completing his residency in family medicine at Carolinas Medical Center. He was in private practice for 10 years before joining the faculty at the Family Medicine Residency Program in Charlotte in 2002. Dr. Brown has been active in practice redesign, implementation of chronic disease models, quality improvement projects, EMR applications and physician management. Dr. Brown joined Novant Medical Group and opened a new office, Presbyterian Family Medicine Midtown in Charlotte in October, 2011.

Gregory K. Griggs, MPA, CAE

Executive Vice President

Gregory K. Griggs, MPA, CAE

Henderson, NC

Mr. Griggs has been on staff with the NCAFP since July of 2005 and has served as Executive Vice President of the Association since October of 2007. He completed his undergraduate studies in journalism and political science at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and his graduate degree in Public Administration concentrating in association and non-profit management at North Carolina State University. He formerly served as CEO/Executive Director of the Association Executives of North Carolina (AENC), the Henderson-Vance County Chamber of Commerce and the Filter Manufacturers Council. Mr. Griggs is a Certified Association Executive and is a member of both AENC and the American Society of Association Executives. He is on the advisory board for Maria Parham Medical Center in Henderson, NC, and is an active member of First United Methodist Church in Henderson. He is past president of the Henderson Lions Club and a past member of the Kerr-Vance Academy Board of Directors. Greg is married with two sons.


2016-2017 NCAFP Directors

Each Academy Director is elected to represent family physician members by reviewing major policies and plans of the association, and communicating the needs of its constituency.


District 1 – Mackenzie Smith, MD
District 2 – Gilbert Palmer, MD
District 3 – Eugenie M. Komives, MD
District 4 – Shauna L. Guthrie, MD, MPH
District 5 – Dimitrios “Taki” P. Hondros, MD
District 6 – Cody A. Wingler, MD
District 7 – Jennifer Mullendore, MD
At-Large – Jason T. Cook, MD
At-Large – Benjamin F. Simmons, MD
Osteopathic Physician Constituency – Slade Suchecki, DO
IMG Constituency – Christopher Z. Rayala, MD
Minority Constituency – Jewell P. Carr, MD
New Physicians Constituency – Jessica Triche, MD
Medical Schools Representatives Chair – Warren P. Newton, MD, MPH (UNC)
Family Medicine Residency Directors Constituency – Viviana Martinez-Bianchi, MD (Duke)
Resident Director – Alyssa M. Shell, MD, PhD (MAHEC-A)
Resident Director-Elect – Courtland Winborne, MD, MPH (Cabarrus)
Student Director – Angie Maharaj (Campbell)
Student Director-Elect – Allyson Mentock (BSOM)

Medical School Representatives

Chair (UNC) – Warren P. Newton, MD, MPH
Alternate (Wake) – Richard W. Lord, Jr., MD, MA
Alternate (Duke) – Lloyd Michener, MD
Alternate (Campbell) – Charlotte Paolini, DO
Alternate (ECU) – Chelley Kaye Alexander, MD

National AAFP Congress of Delegates

AAFP Delegate – Michelle F. Jones, MD
AAFP Delegate – Karen L. Smith, MD, FAAFP
AAFP Alternate Delegate – Robert L. Rich, Jr., MD
AAFP Alternate Delegate – Richard W. Lord, Jr., MD, MA

AAFP Board, Commissions, Committees, & Appointments

AAFP Board of Directors – Mott P. Blair, IV, MD
AAFP Commission on Governmental Advocacy – Karen L. Smith, MD, FAAFP
AAFP Commission on Health of the Public & Science – Shannon B. Dowler, MD
AAFP Commission on Health of the Public & Science – Alexa Mieses, MD, MPH
AAFP Commission on Quality & Practice – Brian R. Forrest, MD