North Carolina Family Medicine Interest Groups

All five North Carolina medical schools have a Family Medicine Interest Group (FMIG) or Family Medicine Club on campus that helps medical students discover Family Medicine and what it means to be a family physician. Each group is unique and holds monthly or quarterly meetings that feature great activities.

In addition to your on-campus opportunities, the American Academy of Family Physicians provides extensive information and tools to medical students, including those leading their Interest Group on campus.  Please visit the links below for more great information.

AAFP: Discover the FMIG Network

AAFP FMIG Network on Facebook

Following are the leaders currently representing your club on campus.  Please reach out to them directly to be added to their listserv, Facebook page or other communications.

For questions or more information on NCAFP’s student programs, contact Tracie Hazelett, Manager, Medical Student & Residency Relations, at thazelett@ncafp.com or 919-980-5357.

Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University FMIG
Committee Officer Noopur Doshi, MS2 doshin16@students.ecu.edu
Committee Officer Thomas George, MS2 georget16@students.ecu.edu
Committee Officer Katherine Mulligan, MS2 mulligank16@students.ecu.edu
Committee Officer Chirag Patel, MS2 patelc12@students.ecu.edu
Committee Officer Nga Tran, MS2 trann16@students.ecu.edu
Faculty Advisor Richard Barker, MD barkerr14@ecu.edu
Faculty Advisor Susan Keen, MD keens@ecu.edu
Campbell University Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine FM Club
President Cameron Smith, MS2 cgsmith1027@email.campbell.edu
Vice President Natalie Allcott, MS2 n_allcott0920@email.campbell.edu
Secretary Jacob Erfurth, MS2 j_erfurth0408@email.campbell.edu
Treasurer Matthew Leary, MS2 mjleary1105@email.campbell.edu
Faculty Advisor Charlotte Paolini, DO Paolini@campbell.edu 
Faculty Advisor Nicholas Pennings, DO pennings@campbell.edu
Duke University School of Medicine FMIG
President Lauren Groskaufmanis, MS4 lauren.groskaufmanis@dm.duke.edu
Treasurer Julie Rivo, MS4 julie.rivo@dm.duke.edu
Development Chair Priscille Schettini, MS4 priscille.schettini@dm.duke.edu
Faculty Advisor Nancy Weigle, MD nancy.weigle@duke.edu
University of North Carolina School of Medicine FMIG
Committee Officer Geoffrey Houtz, MS1 geoffrey_houtz@med.unc.edu
Committee Officer Helene Kirschke-Schwartz, MS1 Helene_kirschkeschwartz@med.unc.edu
Faculty Advisor Kelly Bossenbroek-Fedoriw,MD kelly_fedoriw@med.unc.edu
Faculty Advisor Thomas Koonce, MD thomas_koonce@med.unc.edu
Wake Forest School of Medicine FMIG
President Caroline Crowe, MS2 ccrowe@wakehealth.edu
Vice President Joi Spaulding, MS2 jspauldi@wakehealth.edu
Treasurer Natalie Allen, MS2 nallen@wakehealth.edu
Executive Board / Student Advisor Shaina Kaye, MS4 skaye@wakehealth.edu
Executive Board / Student Advisor Erin Saner, MS4 emsaner@wakehealth.edu
Executive Board / Student Advisor Courtney Brooks, MS3 cobrooks@wakehealth.edu
Executive Board / Student Advisor Caroline Welchman, MS3 cludwig@wakehealth.edu
Faculty Advisor C. Randall Clinch, DO crclinch@wakehealth.edu
Faculty Advisor Michelle Keating, DO mkeating@wakehealth.edu
Faculty Advisor Kaitlyn (Katie) Watson, MD kaiwatso@wakehealth.edu
NCAFP Student State Leadership
Student Director, NCAFP Academy Board of Directors Ally Mentock, ECU, MS3 mentocka15@students.ecu.edu
Student Director-Elect, NCAFP Academy Board of Directors Cameron Smith, CUSOM, MS2 cgsmith1027@email.campbell.edu
Student Trustee, NCAFP Foundation Board of Trustees Courtney Brooks, WF, MS3 cobrooks@wakehealth.edu
Student Trustee, NCAFP Foundation Board of Trustees Olivia Johnson, ECU, MS3 stevenso15@students.ecu.edu
AAFP Student National Leadership
About the AAFP FMIG Leadership Team
Our Region’s AAFP Regional FMIG Coordinator (#5-Southeast) Jacqueline Sroka, Florida International University,MS3 jsrok001@fiu.edu
One of our own: AAFP Regional FMIG Coordinator for Region 3 (Mid-Atlantic) Erin Clark, CUSOM, MS3 eeclark0610@email.campbell.edu