North Carolina Family Medicine Interest Groups

All five North Carolina medical schools have a Family Medicine Interest Group (FMIG) or Family Medicine Club on campus that helps medical students discover Family Medicine and what it means to be a family physician. Each group is unique and holds monthly or quarterly meetings that feature great activities.

In addition to your on-campus opportunities, the American Academy of Family Physicians provides extensive information and tools to medical students, including those leading their Interest Group on campus.  Please visit the links below for more great information.

AAFP: Discover the FMIG Network

AAFP FMIG Network on Facebook

Following are the leaders currently representing your club on campus.  Please reach out to them directly to be added to their listserv, Facebook page or other communications.

For questions or more information on NCAFP’s student programs, contact Tracie Hazelett, Manager, Medical Student & Residency Relations, at thazelett@ncafp.com or 919-980-5357.

 

Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University
Committee Officer Sukhman Grewal, MS2 grewalsu17@students.ecu.edu
Committee Officer Scott McLaughlin, MS2 mclaughlins17@students.ecu.edu
Committee Officer Hannah Smith, MS2 smithhan17@students.ecu.edu
Committee Officer Caroline Wainright, MS2 wainrightc11@students.ecu.edu
Faculty Advisor Richard Barker, MD barkerr14@ecu.edu
Faculty Advisor Susan Keen, MD keens@ecu.edu
Faculty Advisor Brittany Lloyd, MD lloydb18@ecu.edu
Campbell University Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine
President Tony Li, MS2 trli0906@email.campbell.edu
Vice President Evan Dang, MS2 endang@1115@email.campbell.edu
Secretary Adeem Tahira, MS2 a_tahira0814@email.campbell.edu
Treasurer Rebecca Hwang, MS2 r_hwang0807@email.campbell.edu
Faculty Advisor Nicholas Pennings, DO pennings@campbell.edu
Duke University School of Medicine
President Andrew Yuan, MS4 andrew.yuan@duke.edu
Treasurer Rebecca Fabbro, MS2 rebecca.fabbro@duke.edu
Membership & Development Chair Sarah Nullmeyer, MS3 sarah.shirar@duke.edu
Faculty Advisor Nancy Weigle, MD nancy.weigle@duke.edu
University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Committee Officer Geoffrey Houtz, MS2 geoffrey_houtz@med.unc.edu
Committee Officer Helene Kirschke-Schwartz, MS2 helene_kirschkeschwartz@med.unc.edu
Faculty Advisor Kelly Bossenbroek-Fedoriw, MD kelly_fedoriw@med.unc.edu
Faculty Advisor Thomas Koonce, MD thomas_koonce@med.unc.edu
Associate Director  for Med Ed / Student Advisor Dawn Morriston, MPH dawn_morriston@med.unc.edu
Wake Forest School of Medicine
President Katelyn Turlington, MS2 kturling@wakehealth.edu
Vice President William Ward, MS2 wward@wakehealth.edu
Treasurer Scott MacBeth, MS2 smacbeth@wakehealth.edu
Faculty Advisor C. Randall Clinch, DO crclinch@wakehealth.edu
Faculty Advisor Michelle Keating, DO mkeating@wakehealth.edu
Faculty Advisor Kaitlyn (Katie) Watson, MD kaiwatso@wakehealth.edu
North Carolina AFP State Leadership
Student Director, NCAFP Academy Board of Directors Ally Mentock, ECU, MS4 mentocka15@students.ecu.edu
Student Director-Elect, NCAFP Academy Board of Directors Cameron Smith, CUSOM, MS3 cgsmith1027@email.campbell.edu
Student Trustee, NCAFP Foundation Board of Trustees Courtney Brooks, WF, MS4 cobrooks@wakehealth.edu
Student Trustee, NCAFP Foundation Board of Trustees Olivia Johnson, ECU, MS4 stevenso15@students.ecu.edu
Student Rep to Member Satisfaction & Practice Environment Committee Scott MacBeth, WF, MS2 smacbeth@wakehealth.edu
Student Rep to Payer & System Advocacy Committee Matthew Leary, CUSOM, MS3 mjleary1105@email.campbell.edu
Student Rep to Workforce Pipeline Committee Geoffrey Houtz, UNC, MS2 geoffrey_houtz@med.unc.edu
AAFP National Student Leadership
Region #5 AAFP FMIG Network Regional Coordinator (#5 = our / Southeastern Region) Jacqueline Sroka, Florida International University,MS4 jsrok001@fiu.edu
One of our own: AAFP Network National Coordinator Erin Clark, CUSOM, MS4/MPH eeclark0610@email.campbell.edu