North Carolina Family Medicine Interest Groups

All five North Carolina medical schools have a Family Medicine Interest Group (FMIG) or Family Medicine Club on campus that helps medical students discover Family Medicine and what it means to be a family physician. Each group is unique and holds monthly or quarterly meetings that feature great activities.

In addition to your on-campus opportunities, the American Academy of Family Physicians provides extensive information and tools to medical students, including those leading their Interest Group on campus.  Please visit the links below for more great information.

AAFP: Discover the FMIG Network

AAFP FMIG Network on Facebook

Following are the leaders currently representing your club on campus.  Please reach out to them directly to be added to their listserv, Facebook page or other communications.

For questions or more information on NCAFP’s student programs, contact Tracie Hazelett, Manager, Medical Student & Residency Relations, at or 919-980-5357.

Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University FMIG
Committee Officer Noopur Doshi, MS2
Committee Officer Thomas George, MS2
Committee Officer Katherine Mulligan, MS2
Committee Officer Chirag Patel, MS2
Committee Officer Nga Tran, MS2
Faculty Advisor Richard Barker, MD
Faculty Advisor Susan Keen, MD
Campbell University Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine FM Club
President Cameron Smith, MS2
Vice President Natalie Allcott, MS2
Secretary Jacob Erfurth, MS2
Treasurer Matthew Leary, MS2
Faculty Advisor Charlotte Paolini, DO 
Faculty Advisor Nicholas Pennings, DO
Duke University School of Medicine FMIG
President Lauren Groskaufmanis, MS4
Treasurer Julie Rivo, MS4
Development Chair Priscille Schettini, MS4
Faculty Advisor Nancy Weigle, MD
University of North Carolina School of Medicine FMIG
Committee Officer Geoffrey Houtz, MS1
Committee Officer Helene Kirschke-Schwartz, MS1
Faculty Advisor Kelly Bossenbroek-Fedoriw,MD
Faculty Advisor Thomas Koonce, MD
Wake Forest School of Medicine FMIG
President Caroline Crowe, MS2
Vice President Joi Spaulding, MS2
Treasurer Natalie Allen, MS2
Executive Board / Student Advisor Shaina Kaye, MS4
Executive Board / Student Advisor Erin Saner, MS4
Executive Board / Student Advisor Courtney Brooks, MS3
Executive Board / Student Advisor Caroline Welchman, MS3
Faculty Advisor C. Randall Clinch, DO
Faculty Advisor Michelle Keating, DO
Faculty Advisor Kaitlyn (Katie) Watson, MD
NCAFP Student State Leadership
Student Director, NCAFP Academy Board of Directors Ally Mentock, ECU, MS3
Student Director-Elect, NCAFP Academy Board of Directors Cameron Smith, CUSOM, MS2
Student Trustee, NCAFP Foundation Board of Trustees Courtney Brooks, WF, MS3
Student Trustee, NCAFP Foundation Board of Trustees Olivia Johnson, ECU, MS3
AAFP Student National Leadership
About the AAFP FMIG Leadership Team
Our Region’s AAFP Regional FMIG Coordinator (#5-Southeast) Jacqueline Sroka, Florida International University,MS3
One of our own: AAFP Regional FMIG Coordinator for Region 3 (Mid-Atlantic) Erin Clark, CUSOM, MS3