Advancing Family Medicine in North Carolina Since 1948

The North Carolina Academy of Family Physicians (NCAFP) is the Old North state’s largest specialty medical association, with a membership of over 4,000¬†family physicians, family medicine residents, and medical students. Originally chartered in 1948, the NCAFP is a federated chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP).

The purpose and mission of the NCAFP is to advance the specialty of family medicine to improve the health of patients, families, and communities in North Carolina. The Academy works toward this vision most principally through its ongoing professional advocacy and medical education efforts, and also through its affiliated philanthropic organization, the North Carolina Academy of Family Physicians Foundation.

The Academy has a long and established history of leadership in family medicine and primary care. At the national level, five AAFP presidents have originated from the chapter, including Drs. Amos Johnson (’64), James G. Jones (’87), Douglas E. Henley (’95), and Lori Heim (’09). Additionally, four national Family Physicians of the Year have been North Carolinians: Drs. Jane Carswell (1984), J. Seaborn Blair, Jr., (1988), Melvin Pinn, (1998), Maureen Murphy (2016) and Karen L. Smith (2017).